Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201426 Mar


(L - R) - Mathew Summerfield from Team Cummins, Stuart Oliver from Team Castrol Vecton, David Jenkins from Team Tata Technologies Motorsports at the winner's podium of T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit


India’s first truck racing championship – T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2014, concluded in an action-packed 45 minute final race with Stuart Oliver of Team Castrol Vecton clinching the Championship title. Mathew Summerfield of Team Cummins finished second and Dave Jenkins of Team Tata Technologies Motorsports secured third position in the driver’s championship.


Team Castrol Vecton won the Team Title and was followed by Team Cummins and Team Tata Technologies Motorsports in the final Team standings.


Prima Truck Racing Championship

Tata Motors Prima Trucks during the formation lap before the start of the race


The debut season of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship was held on Sunday, March 23, 2014 at the Buddh International Circuit and was witnessed by an audience of over 25,000 who cheered on the speeding race-modified Tata Motors Prima trucks.


The T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship comprised two races, a 5-lap Sprint Race and a 15-lap Main Race, with the Champion Award granted to the winning driver on the basis on combined points from both the races. The Team Championship was awarded on the basis of the combined scores of the two drivers of the respective teams from both the races.


Prima Truck Racing Championship

T1 Prima Truck Racing Champion 2014 in progress at the Buddh International Circuit


Stuart Oliver, T1 Prima Truck Racing Champion 2014 was ecstatic after his victory. He said, “It was an amazing experience. The track is beautiful and trucks were performing great. I am thrilled to have won the first ever Truck racing championship in India, among the enthusiastic crowd who were cheering each time we drove past the grand stand. I see a lot of potential of this sport here and would love to come back and race again.”


Prima Truck Racing Championship

The 3 winning trucks of Team Castrol Vecton (Green), Team Cummins (Red) and Team Tata Technologies Motorsports (Blue) arrive in the pit lane after the finish of the final race


Commenting on the successful weekend, Ravi Pisharody, Executive Director - Commercial Business Unit, Tata Motors said, “We have had a tremendous day here for the truck racing with a really pumped-up atmosphere and we have been delighted by the response received for the launch of our debut truck racing event. Tata Prima trucks proved their racing prowess and build quality in this high intensity race. We are extremely delighted with the performance of T1 teams and drivers who have been supportive throughout the event. We would like to congratulate the winning team, sponsors and all participants for making this first of its kind, debut racing event, a historic day.”


Previous | Next

Tata Car Features

Jagat Singh And Nagarjuna Win The First Ever Indian Truck Race At T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship

Creating Indian motorsports history, Jagat Singh and Nagarjuna A have won the maiden race T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship, organised for Indian truck drivers, in its third edition. Among the international drivers, David Jenkins of Team Tata Technologies took top honors with Rick Collett and Graham Powell both from Team Tata Cummins, taking second and third place respectively, in an action packed race.

Tata Motors Launches Signa Range Of CV

Tata Motors launched its new Signa range of medium & heavy commercial vehicles, at the Siam Auto Expo 2016. On display at the Auto Expo 2016, Tata Motors showcased three variants from the Signa range – the Signa 4923.S tractor, the Signa 3118.T multi-axle truck and the Signa 2518.K tipper.

More News