Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201303 Dec


Rahil Noorani crowned 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup champion


Mumbai’s Rahil Noorani clinched the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup title after a podium finish in Race 3 at the Buddh International Circuit. South African driver Jeffrey Kruger returned to the top step of the podium at the in Race 3 to end the season on a high.



Jeffrey Kruger in action at Buddh International Circuit


As the final round of the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup travelled to the Buddh International Circuit, South African race driver Jeffrey Kruger continued his dominance on the track and proved to everyone that he was in a class of his own. Starting from the pole position in race 1, Jeffrey Kruger pulled away from the pack from lap 1 and kept on increasing his lead to eventually win the race comfortably ahead of his sister Robyn Kruger who was a guest driver for this round.



Guest driver Robyn Kruger in action in car number 25 


Robyn, who started second on the grid, just managed to stay ahead of Rahil Noorani and secured second position. Rahil Noorani, started third on the grid and held on to his position till the end finishing ahead of Prashanth Tharani, who was the leader in Championship standings coming into this round.


Jeffrey Kruger said, “It was a great race with my sister and I am happy to have come out in front. Going into the first corner we were side-by-side but I managed to stay ahead. After that I kept pushing lap after lap and managed to build a good lead. I am very happy to win again as I love driving on this circuit.”



Race Polos in action in the Race 2


Race 2 of this round started with Angad Singh Matharoo on pole alongside New Delhi youngster Lee Keshav Gupta. Both front row drivers got overtaken at the start, allowing third placed driver Gaurav Mehta to jump into the lead as they headed into the first corner. Lee slotted into second place with fast starting Jeffrey Kruger on his tail at the end of lap 1. Jeffrey made his move on Lee on lap 2 and moved in to second place and was all set to challenge Gaurav for the top spot. However, the race was red-flagged on lap 4 when Samarth Jaiswal’s Race Polo made contact and flipped multiple times at the penultimate corner. Fortunately the driver walked away unhurt. The race could not restart and Gaurav was adjudged the winner. Jeffrey finished in second place ahead of an impressive Lee who took his second podium of the season.


Pune lad Gaurav Mehta won an action filled Race 2 of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup to win his first ever race in a competitive series. He commented, “This is probably one of the biggest days of my life. It felt amazing to stand on the top step of the podium. I felt really proud when I heard the Indian national anthem playing for me. I wanted to prove a point after last round's incident and I am glad I could show people that I have what it takes to win.”




Rahil Noorani in action in Race 3


The final race of this round saw Jeffrey Kruger on pole position with Karthik Tharani Singh in second place. Jeffrey continued his string of great starts to keep the lead after turn 1 followed by Robyn Kruger and Rahil Noorani.


Rahil got a great run on Robyn and managed to pass her on lap 3. Slow starting Karthik Tharani Singh who had slipped down to fourth place also started to put pressure on Robyn. In the next lap, he also made a move and made it stick as he moved into third position. Meanwhile behind them Prashanth Tharani Singh and Angad Singh Matharoo collided forcing Prashanth to go off and lose positions. Jeffrey crossed the finish line with another brilliant performance with Rahil Noorani and Karthik Tharani finishing second and third respectively.



Race Polos in action in the Race 3


2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup champion, Rahil Noorani commented, "Today happens to be my birthday and this is the best gift I could have given to myself. It was a very emotional moment for me. This is my third attempt and previous two times I missed out by couple of points so this is very special and I can say I am third time lucky. The engineers, mechanics and entire Volkswagen team are responsible for this so a big thank youto all of them."


Race 3 winner Jeffrey Kruger said, “It was another great day of racing for me. The car has been perfect all weekend so I would like to thank the entire Volkswagen team for giving me this opportunity. As I said earlier I love driving on this track and today the crowd played a big role as there were so many people cheering us on. I have had a very good experience driving in India and will take back only positives from here.”  



Yatin Magu won the Junior Title at the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup


Yatin Magu clinched the Junior title and was heard commenting, “I am extremely glad to win this title. I was leading before this round and despite no podiums I have been able to finish all the 3 race of this weekend at decent places. This season has been very successful for me and I look forward to more racing in the future.”


Champion of 2013 season, Rahil Noorani has been offered a seat for the whole season of JK Tyre FB 02 2014 and a guest drive at Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup 2014. Jeffrey Kruger was announced the Star of Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2013 and has been offered a Guest drive at the Volkswagen Golf R Cup 2014 in Europe. Yatin Magu has been offered a fully sponsored seat for the next season of Volkswagen Polo R Cup.


Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Motorsports, said, “We had a brilliant ending to the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup. Congratulations to Rahil Noorani for winning the title as he has been the most consistent driver throughout the season. It is great to see youngsters like Gaurav winning and Lee on the podium. Our objective has always been to develop young drivers and the entire team can be extremely proud of the job that they have done. Everyone has worked really hard this year and the results show for itself.”


Previous | Next

Volkswagen Car Features

Volkswagen Atlas And Long Version Of The Tiguan Debut On Eve Of The Detroit Auto Show

On the eve of the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit, the Volkswagen brand is presenting two new models as part of its SUV offensive: the Atlas and the new long version of the Tiguan, both being launched in the US in 2017.

Volkswagen Motorsport Conducts Its Driver Selection Process For The Ameo Cup 2017

Volkswagen Motorsport India conducted the driver selection process last week for the upcoming season of its brand new Volkswagen Ameo Cup in Pune.

More News