Rate The Site


Your Email Address

Please enter your comments & suggestions

Join Us to Know about the Latest Cars and
Great Offers on Cars & Car Accessories

201424 Mar


Tata Motors has taken the initiative to organise India’s first truck racing championship. The T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship is all set to get rolling as the company today introduced the six participating teams and a driver line-up with internationally proven excellence in the field of truck racing. The event will be held at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, on March 23, 2013. 


The six teams that will battle for glory at the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship are Castrol Vecton, Cummins, Tata Technologies Motorsports, Allied Partners, Dealer Daredevils and Dealer Warriors. With two trucks running per team, all teams will compete in a qualifier race followed by the main race. 


Conducted under the aegis of FIA and FMSCI, the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will feature Tata Prima trucks, built specifically for the purpose.  These are big Tata Prima 4038.S model trucks which produce 375 PS of maximum power at 2100 rpm and can attain a top speed of 110 kmph.


To make these Prima trucks fit for racing, guidelines from British Truck Racing Association were followed and subsequently 22 key modifications were made to meet a mix of safety and performance needs. Some of the changes and modifications have been made on the fuel tank, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, racing seats, safety belts, exhaust, steering wheel, and a role cage among others.


Ravi Pisharody, Executive Director, Commercial Vehicle, Commercial Vehicle Business Unit, Tata Motors Ltd., “We are excited about the commencement of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship tomorrow which offers a wonderful showcase for the Indian trucking industry. We welcome all our partners – the team owners and sponsors, and are delighted in joining hands with them in putting together this ground-breaking event of India’s first truck racing event, an adventurous and unique form of motorsports. We would like to wish all the teams the very best, as they strive for glory, in this grand spectacle of big beautiful Prima race trucks race against each other”.


Details of the six teams and their respective drivers are as follows:  


Tata Technologies Motorsports - David Jenkins and Brian Burt

Castrol Vecton - Stuart Oliver and Dave Ball

Cummins - Mat Summerfield and Simon Reid

Allied Partners - Steve Rothery and Paul Mc.Cumisky

Dealer Daredevils - Steve Thomas and Graham Powell

Dealer Warriors - Ben Horne and Steven Powell


Previous | Next

Latest Tata news

Tata Motors To Launch Hexa On January 18

Tata Motors has announced that it will launch its much-awaited lifestyle vehicle, the new Hexa, on January 18. The Tata Hexa was first showcased as a concept at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show and later unveiled as a production version at the 2016 Delhi Auto Expo.

Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles Announces Price Hike From January 2017

Due to the impact of various macro-economic factors, Tata Motors today announced that the Company will be increasing prices of its passenger vehicles starting from Rs 5,000 upto Rs 25,000, depending on the model.

More News